Anilog #1: Winter 2017 Impressions (1st Week)

I am starting this week-to-week seasonal update section where I will be writing episodic thoughts of the shows I watch from the season. I just might make this a Sunday thing. I don’t know how consistent I will be in posting these, but I guess it is worth a try.

Anyways, here are the anime I watched that aired this week. These are very short first episode impressions (Fuuka had two released this week)- partly because I did not have content to comment on and partly because I am inexperienced in writing episodic impressions.

Akiba’s Trip The Animation

Screenshot (922).png

Nope, the title totally doesn’t say  Akiba Strip. Another ecchi comedy with tacky character designs. Minimal detail allows this show to have decent animation. This anime is consciously trope-y with hit-and-miss comedy (and parody). I might just keep watching this show solely for the unique setting (Akihabara and the stripping gimmick).

Masamune-kun’s Revenge

screenshot-923

This anime has an interesting setting for a good rom-com; but the characters are a bit too gimmicky for good character writing. Then again, that won’t be an issue if the sole purpose of this anime is displaying good comedy (which I can’t really say they did well in the first episode). The show has a nice art style and beautiful backgrounds. Clearly, this show has good production value (at least in episode 1). I will keep on watching this show with minimal expectations.

Descending Stories: Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinju

Screenshot (929).png

And Rakugo is back! The first episode starts off ten years after Yotaro tells Yakumo his wish of becoming the third generation Sukeroku… and he does become the third Sukeroku (come on, this can’t be spoilers because it’s the first episode). I loved the way Yotaro (or Sukeroku the third) recapped the first season’s first and last episode through performing rakugo. I also sense future romantic development between Yotaro and Konatsu. This episode is pretty light-hearted and does sow some seeds for story development; this is a nice start. I can’t help but share this one liner:

screenshot-928

Seiren

Screenshot (930).png

What a boring first episode this was. A lot of things were going on, but dull dialogue and characters failed to interest me in this harem. Pair it with rigid animation, janky scene transitions, badly written comedy and lack of facial expressions: you get this uninteresting weight of an animation piece. I think I am dropping it after one more episode.

Fuuka

Screenshot (932).png

Now this anime shows promise. I liked the unique premise and the art style. The voice actors are noticeably good too. I am always interested when an anime is about music. I didn’t mind the ecchi all that much: they seemed like fleeting moments. This anime also has interesting characters. It is pretty uncommon to have two separate episodes released on the same day. Anyways, I will definitely continue to watch this show.

Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Impure King Arc

Screenshot (933).png

I enjoyed the first season of this show for the action and the comedy; and I look forward to this season too. Admittedly, the show does get a bit serious with itself in this episode. The whole episode expectedly looks visually polished. A good set-up episode for a show getting a sequel after such a long time.

Minami Kamakura High School Girls Cycling Club

Screenshot (935).png

I guess the title should tell you what’s the anime about: cute girls riding possibly cute bicycles. I have nothing to neither applaud nor complain about the character designs, the art and the premise. I wasn’t comfortable with the awkward use of CG (like in the screenshot above), but maybe I will grow used to it- that is, if I keep on watching this anime. I will give this a couple more episodes, and if I do not get comfortable watching amateurishly 2D-3D hybrid animation: I have to drop it.

Saga of Tanya the Evil

Screenshot (936).png

Interesting start; I do not fully understand the whole premise yet- something about war, mages (yep, really original) and a crazy little girl. Seriously, though, the character designs seemed awkward to look at but I guess that’s not a big issue. The animation is passable. However, the show knows how to be atmospheric with its soundtrack and color schemes. I am not sold on this anime, but I will be watching more.

Demi-chan wa Kataritai (Interviews with Monster Girls)

Screenshot (939).png

Now this anime has a unique and interesting premise- a light-hearted comedy about demi-humans in a school. Simple art and character designs paired with fluid animation never ruins the comedy aesthetic of a show. The artist has a knack at displaying different face expressions. Solid character introductions and concise world-building. A nice slice-of-life. I will be following this show.

This isn’t an impression, but still though…

March comes in like a lion

Screenshot (937).png

It is a new year and we get another new, visually stellar, opening and a catchy new ending. New characters are introduced, including a new ‘antagonist’- who else, other than the love  interest of the ‘evil’ step-sister? Shogi takes the center stage in this episode with the start of the Lion King Tournament. I liked how the show didn’t take up much air time on the matches- but when they did- the visual metaphors are always a delight to watch no matter how neko-shogi it gets. I think I never saw Kiriyama this angry in the series before-  this shows that he really cares about Kyouko, despite her being a… despicable character. Anyways, I look forward to Rei’s next match.

That’s all for this week. There will be more impressions next Sunday.

4 thoughts on “Anilog #1: Winter 2017 Impressions (1st Week)

  1. I loved this episode of March Comes in Like a Lion. I’m still kind of on the fence about most of the new shows though. I’ll give most of them another episode to settle because some of them had some rough (or boring) starts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

